Operations Division

The Operations Division is headed by Deputy Commissioner, Operations —Mr. David SUAGU.

The Operations Division is made up of the following branch and sections; 

  • Southern Region Command
  • Islands Region Command
  • Northern Region Command  
  • Highlands Region Command  
  • Detainee Welfare & Rehabilitation/Prison Industries
  • Rural Lockup
  • Detainee Data & Statistics


There are twenty (21) officially gazetted Correctional Institutions in Papua New Guinea. Of these, eighteen are operating whilst three (3) are closed. 

The institutions, that are in operation are, Bomana (NCD), Buimo (Lae), Baisu (Mt Hagen), Kerevat (Rabual), Kavieng (Kavieng), Manus (Lorengau), Lakiemata (Kimbe), Beikut (ARB) Giligili (Alotau), Biru (Popondetta), Beon (Madang), Boram (Wewak), Vanimo (Vanimo), Bundaira (Kainantu), Bihute (Goroka), Barawagi (Kundiawa), Bui-Iebi (Mendi) and Ningerum in Kiunga. The closed Institution are, Mukurumanda (Wabag), Hawa (Tari) and Daru (Daru).


The Correctional Service (CS) is also jointly responsible with the Department of Provincial and Local Level Government for the operations of ten (10) Rural Lockups throughout Papua New Guinea. These Rural Lockups are; Misima (MBP), Menyamia, and Finshafen (Morobe Province), Angoram, Ambunti, Maprik (East Sepik Province), Hutzena (North Solomon Province), Bogia (Madang Province), Baiyer (Western Highlands Province)